Web typography - just a little bit longer

css
ergonomy
design
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f389dab8510> #<Tag:0x00007f389dab8358> #<Tag:0x00007f389dab81a0>

I am by no means a web designer. If you are reading this with a web browser, you can see that. The following article focuses on readability improvements, via the means of CSS.

tl;dr: modern browsers aren’t perfect yet. Not for rendering fronts, and not for typesetting.

Typography - learning by doing. Look, feel, adjust.

I personally like my new typography. - I think the text is much more readable now, although the the font (Helvetica) could be clearer.

In the following I want to summarize how and why I changed the style (CSS) of my websites. I’d be happy for feedback.

I limit what I do to CSS, because that’s the relevant way of applying typographic alignments in the WWW. There are some Javascript hacks, which I ignore for now.

I read some of the articles on Practical Typography and skipped the parts where the designer wants to sell his fonts.
Personally I want that everyone can apply and learn from these approaches. I get that everyone needs to pay bills. - And that there is a difference between a professional typography design and my style. There are many ways to do it. But this one in mine.

Font - is it web safe?

For web publishing there is the limitation, that you either need to reliably distribute the font to the client, or you need to use a so called web-safe font.

If you are like me, you don’t understand why your system needs 100s of fonts. Many of them appear to be useless. But even Comic Sans has fans.

Helvetica is a safe and traditional choice. It’s used by Discourse (the software I use to host my web stuff) by default. It’s very popular. People like it. Fair enough.

I use:

font-family: "HelveticaNeue-Light","Helvetica Neue Light","Helvetica Neue",
Helvetica,Arial,"Lucida Grande",sans-serif !important;