KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2021+ Pipeline hack - my wrap-up

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3ac520> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3ac430> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3ac1d8> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3a7598> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3a55b8> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3a5130> #<Tag:0x00007f8a2b3a4528>

KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Europe 2021+ Pipeline hack - my wrap-up

Two weeks ago (May 4th→ May 7th) I spent a bit of time watching / skimming over KubeCon EU 2021 contributions (travel restrictions due to COVID19). Two years ago, didn’t we all complain about the boredom of InfoSec cons? – Knocked off one’s perch.

What’s the difference between arrogant and offensive InfoSec? :face_with_monocle:

Developers develop DevOps

“Developers”

(S. Ballmer (Microsoft), Developers, about 2000)

Before I moved into InfoSec / Compliance I worked as a software-engineer doing C# and C++. That was before “DevOps”, before “Cloud” even. Time went by and things changed. But I was working as a software developer with critical infrastructure systems, and things remained. Sometimes for good reasons, sometimes not.

These days developers may have more organizational influence. It’s more common to ask for a Dev’s opinion than to mismanage the teams (which was common). If I take a look at the KubeCon 2021 (EU) contributions it feels like every 3rd or 4th contribution is about security / compliance, documentation, and communication[1]. That shift of focus from bits and bytes to security and communication is an indicator that things mature.

I decided to add Information Management as one of this site’s key areas. After all this setup here is a versatile documentation system with an emphasis on slickness and velocity. Velocity…

Between policy, velocity and Ransomware

So I continue working from home during these unprecedented times. Being within the digital economy is a privilege these days… Still, I have to write ISMS policy amendments. Naturally, I take breaks (good for communication) I get social while I read this on my Twitter feed: